PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

BILL No. FA23-B005



Executive Board Voting Clarification

Author(s): Andrew Mitchell

Sponsor: Rae Silver, Department of Food Science

Co-sponsor(s): Jacob White, Department of Computer Science

WHEREAS, Several executive officers are now codified as team/committee chairs; and

WHEREAS, Team/Committee chairs are granted a voting position on the executive board; and

WHEREAS, Robert's Rules states that no one person may hold more than one vote in a deliberative body; and

WHEREAS, The Parliamentarian is not permitted to vote despite being chair of the Legislative Review Committee (LRC); and

WHEREAS, This leads to an inequitable lack of representation for the LRC in executive board meetings.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED, That PGSG amend Article III, Section 1, subsection C of the PGSG Constitution to add three new subsections to read;

Article III Executive Branch SECTION 1. COMPOSITION In accordance with this Constitution:

A. The Executive Branch of the PGSG shall consist of the Executive Officers of the PGSG.

B. The Executive Officers shall be defined as:

- i. The President, the Senate Chair, the Treasurer, the Chief of Staff, Legislative Affairs Officer, Diversity Officer, and the Public Relations Officer, all who must be duly elected from among the PGSG members in accordance with the rules and regulations of election established by the PGSS in the PGSG Bylaws.
- ii. The Parliamentarian, who must be appointed by the President from among the PGSG members and confirmed by a majority vote of the Senate.
- C. The Executive Officers and the chair of each committee and team, or their designee, of the PGSG shall constitute the Executive Board, with all members having full voting privileges except the Parliamentarian, which shall be a non-voting member.
- i. Any committee or team chair that holds a concurrent position as an executive officer must have at most one vote.
- ii. Such an officer may not divide their chair and officer positions, by designees or otherwise, unless only one is granted voting privileges.
- iii. Any committee or team chair that holds a concurrent position as a non-voting executive officer must not vote as a chair but may appoint a designee who is granted voting privileges on behalf of the committee or team.

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED 29th day of November 2023

| DocuSigned by: | DocuSigned by: |
|-----------------|---------------------------------------|
| Somosmita Mitra | agrid- |
| Somosmita Mitra | Josiah Davidson |
| President, PGSG | Senate Chair, PGSS |
| | DocuSigned by: |
| | andrew Mitchell |
| | Andrew Mitchel |
| | Parliamentarian, PGSG |
| DocuSigned by: | DocuSigned by: |
| andrew Mitchell | Ether hand |
| Andrew Mitchell | Jacob White |
| Author | Sponsor, Senator for Computer Science |

Certification

I, Secret Permenter, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 29th day of November 2023 by the following vote:

AYES (38): Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ABE) - Daphne Fauber

Agricultural Economics - Diamilatou Kane

Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (AgSEC) -

Alejandra Jaramillo (Acting)

Animal Sciences - Opeadura Timileyin Osunbami

Aviation and Transportation Technology (ATT) - Luigi Raphael Dy

Basic Medical Sciences - Naseem Alfadhl

Biochemistry - Victor Gutierrez-Schultz

Biological Sciences - Morgan Chaney

Biomedical Engineering - Mikayla Roach

Chemical Engineering - Isaac S. Wheeler

Chemistry - Temitope Olayemi

Computer Science (CS) - Jacob White

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Jacob Mishne

Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (EAPS) - Michael Ovelakin

Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Jamie Klamerus

Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) - Paschal Amusuo

Engineering Management - Titiksha Wagh

Engineering Technology - Praga Giri

Food Science - Elma Kontor-Manu

Forestry and Natural Resources (FNR) - Desmond Sosu Mensah

Gerontology - Destiny Ogle

Health Sciences - Joseph Speth

History - Secret Permenter

Human Development and Family Sciences (HDFS) - Inga Nordgren

Industrial and Physical Pharmacy (IPPH) - Shambhavi Borde

Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Tuba Marjan

Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair

Mathematics - Patrick Henry Debonis

Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Meghavin Bhatasana

Nuclear Engineering (NE) - Stepan Ozerov

Nutrition Science - Qianyue Wang

Philosophy and Literature - Ramona Bergman

Political Science - Benjamin E Torres

Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren

Wilbanks

Sociology - Corey Resweber

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences (SLHS) - Margaret Ziko

Statistics - Kyle Conrad

Technology, Leadership, and Innovation (TLI) - Elizabeth Thompson

NAYS (0):

ABSENT (14): Agronomy - Lynda Peter

Anthropology - Rebecca Gale Martinez Civil Engineering - Jose Capa Salinas

Communication - Husen-Chi Chiu

Comparative Literature - Marisa J Bryans

Comparative Pathobiology - Omnia Ibrahium

Computational Interdisciplinary Graduate Program (CIGP) -

Meenakshi Narayanaswami

Engineering Education - Kevin Jay Kaufman-Ortiz

English - Jeeyoung Choi

Entomology - Leslie Aviles

Global Supply Chain Management (GSM) - Rohan Saini

Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) - Chang Ma

Management (MGMT) - Jinfeng "Phoenix" Chen

Physics and Astronomy - Soumik Chandra

ABSTAINED (9): Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAE) - Arjun Rajashekar Adiga

(Acting)

Botany and Plant Pathology (BPP) - Pascal Okoye

Educational Studies - Alexandria Holmes

Environmental and Ecological Engineering (EEE) - Chris Copeland

(Acting)

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture (HLA) - Vera Vukovic

Industrial Engineering - Mohammad Ahmadi Gharehtoragh

Languages and Cultures - Adewuyi Roseline

Philosophy - James Emery

Veterinary Clinical Sciences (VCS) - Oluwabunmi Titilope Oladele

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 18th day of April

2024.

Secret Permenter Senate Clerk, PGSS

DocuSigned by: