PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

BILL No. SP24-B006



To Update the Title of President Pro Tempore to Senate Chair in the PGSG Bylaws

Author(s):Legislative Review CommitteeSponsor:Titiksha WaghCo-sponsor(s):Legislative Review Committee

WHEREAS, throughout the PGSG bylaws there is a need to update the title of the President Pro Tempore; and

WHEREAS, Section IV subsection B.2 of the PGSG bylaws uses the title "President Pro Tempore" to delineate the election of a senate officer established in the PGSG constitution; and

WHEREAS, no such officer exists in the PGSG constitution; and

WHEREAS, aside from the Senate Clerk, the Senate Chair is the only other senate officer mentioned in the PGSG Constitution;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED, That PGSG amend all instances of President Pro Tempore in the bylaws to Senate Chair.

II. Operations of the PGSS

11II.A. Meetings

- 1) Order of Business at PGSS Meetings
- c) Approval of Minutes

i) Minutes shall be taken of all PGSS meetings by the Senate Clerk or, in the absence of the Senate Clerk, the Senate President Pro Tempore any non-voting member of the Senate designated by the Senate Chair.

Elections of Senate Officers

a) The positions of Senate Clerk and President Pro Tempore Senate Chair shall be elected in accordance with the PGSG Constitution.

b) All Senate Officers hold their office for a term of one (1) year, until such time as a replacement is elected.

c) In the event of a vacancy in any Senate Office, an election shall be held at the next PGSS meeting to elect a replacement.

d) Eligible candidates are all PGSG members not currently on "not in good standing" status. Current holders of the office are eligible to seek reelection for as many terms as they are eligible to hold the office.

e) A candidate for an officer position must be nominated by a member of the Senate and may be nominated for multiple offices. Senators may nominate themselves. Such nominations shall be opened at the meeting prior to the April elections meeting, and shall remain open until the election of a particular position.

f) Each candidate for each position will have two (2) minutes to present their qualifications followed by no more than three (3) minutes of questions from the PGSS. When the question periods for all candidates have concluded, the candidates will be asked to leave the room, upon which time the PGSS will begin a general discussion of candidates lasting no more than three (3) minutes.

g) Offices will be elected one (1) at a time, beginning with Senate Clerk, followed by President Pro Tempore, given that both are being elected in the same meeting. Election to any one (1) office immediately removes the candidate from consideration for any subsequent office.

h) Officers shall be elected by a majority vote. If no candidates receive a majority of the vote, a run-off shall be held between the two (2) candidates with the largest plurality of votes. No additional speaking time will be allowed. Run-offs shall be decided by a majority vote. Both votes shall be taken by show of hands and counted by the current Senate Chair and Senate Clerk Chair of the Senate and the Secretary unless either person is running in the election, in which case the President and/or Chief of Staff shall count-If the counts are not in agreement the vote will be retaken.

i) The election of each officer must be approved by a majority vote of the Executive Board. The Executive Board must consider the election at the next meeting of the Board and shall inform the Chair of the Senate and the candidate of their decision. In the event that a candidate is not approved, another election shall be held at the next PGSS meeting to elect a new candidate for that office..

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED 24th day of April 2024.

-DocuSigned by:

Somosmita Mitra

Somosmita Mitra President, PGSG

DocuSigned by: A293462337E40

Josiah Davidson Senate Chair, PGSS

DocuSigned by: andrew Mitchell

04C6E60306C

Andrew Mitchell Parliamentarian, PGSG

DocuSigned by: Awing 3C1705481045B

Floor Sponsor, Senator for Engineering Management

Certification

I, Secret Permenter, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 24th day of April 2024 by the following vote:

AYES (36): Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAE) - Josue N. Rivera Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ABE) - Daphne Fauber Agricultural Economics - Diamilatou Kane Aviation and Transportation Technology (ATT) - Luigi Raphael Dy Biochemistry - Victor Gutierrez-Schultz **Biological Sciences - Morgan Chaney** Biomedical Engineering - Mikayla Roach Chemical Engineering - Isaac S. Wheeler Chemistry - Temitope Olayemi Civil Engineering - Jose Capa Salinas Communication - Husen-Chi Chiu Comparative Literature - Marisa J Bryans Computer Graphics Technology - Sanjeevani Patankar Computer Science (CS) - Jacob White Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Jacob Mishne Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Jamie Klamerus Engineering Education - Anyerson Cuervo Engineering Management - Titiksha Wagh Engineering Technology - Praga Giri Food Science - Elma Kontor-Manu Forestry and Natural Resources (FNR) - Desmond Sosu Mensah Gerontology - Destiny Ogle Health Sciences - Joseph Speth History - Secret Permenter Human Development and Family Sciences (HDFS) - Inga Nordgren Industrial and Physical Pharmacy (IPPH) - Shambhavi Borde Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Tuba Marjan Management (MGMT) - Jinfeng "Phoenix" Chen Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair Mathematics - Patrick Henry Debonis Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Meghavin Bhatasana Nutrition Science - Qianyue Wang Philosophy - James Emery Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren Wilbanks Sociology - Corey Resweber

Statistics - Kyle Conrad

NAYS (1): Technology, Leadership, and Innovation (TLI) - Elnara Mammadova

ABSENT (16): Agronomy - Lynda Peter Animal Sciences - Opeadura Timileyin Osunbami Basic Medical Sciences - Naseem Alfadhl Comparative Pathobiology - Omnia Ibrahium Computational Interdisciplinary Graduate Program (CIGP) -Meenakshi Narayanaswami Educational Studies - Alexandria Holmes English - Jeeyoung Choi Entomology - Leslie Aviles Environmental and Ecological Engineering (EEE) - Venkat Roy Global Supply Chain Management (GSM) - Rohan Saini Industrial Engineering - Mohammad Ahmadi Gharehtoragh Nuclear Engineering (NE) - Stepan Ozerov Philosophy and Literature - Ramona Bergman Physics and Astronomy - Soumik Chandra Political Science - Benjamin E Torres Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences (SLHS) - Margaret Ziko ABSTAINED (9): Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (AgSEC) -Mathew Smith Anthropology - Rebecca Gale Martinez Botany and Plant Pathology (BPP) - Pascal Okoye Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (EAPS) - Michael Ovelakin Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) - Paschal Amusuo

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture (HLA) - Vera Vukovic Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) - Chang Ma

Languages and Cultures - Adewuyi Roseline Veterinary Clinical Sciences (VCS) - Oluwabunmi Titilope Oladele

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 9th day of May 2024.

DocuSigned by:

Secret Permenter Senate Clerk, PGSS