

WHEREAS, Purdue University will merge with a portion of the former Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis and begin having graduate students in residence at Purdue Indianapolis (PIN) beginning in Summer 2024; and

WHEREAS, these graduate students will be represented by Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG) in an equal manner with graduate students at the Purdue West Lafayette campus; and

WHEREAS, a framework for representation is needed to begin representation of these graduate students in the Purdue Graduate Student Senate (PGSS) beginning in the Fall 2024 Senate session; and

WHEREAS, it is currently unknown the exact number of graduate students who will be located at PIN; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, PGSS determines that departments having graduate students at both Purdue West Lafayette and PIN be considered as separate programs, receiving a senate seat for each.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Should the total number of graduate students located at the PIN campus be less than 10% of the graduate student population in residence on the Purdue West Lafayette campus at the end of the Fall 2024 semester, then PGSS advises that the LRC draft amendments to the governing documents to be considered by the Senate in the Spring 2025 semester. These amendments will reflect that a defined number of senators be seated to represent the graduate student body of PIN as a whole rather than a per department basis with specific seats being held for programs unique to the Indianapolis campus

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the PGSG Executive ad-hoc committee on PIN involvement (established April 3rd, 2024) should actively seek input from graduate students located at PIN to determine the best mode of attendance for these Senators (in-person, hybrid, etc.) and the best method of selection of these senators if a senator is not representing a single department. A report on these issues must be delivered no later than the third PGSS meeting of the Spring 2025 semester.

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED 24th day of April 2024.

DocuSigned by:

Somosmita Mitra

Somosmita Mitra President, PGSG

DocuSigned by: 9A293462337E40F

Josiah Davidson Senate Chair, PGSS

DocuSigned by: andrew Mitchell -04C6F60306C0432...

Andrew Mitchell Parliamentarian, PGSG

DocuSigned by:

Floor Sponsor, Senator for Engineering Management

Certification

I, Secret Permenter, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 24th day of April 2024 by the following vote:

AYES (30): Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAE) - Josue N. Rivera Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ABE) - Daphne Fauber Agricultural Economics - Diamilatou Kane Aviation and Transportation Technology (ATT) - Luigi Raphael Dy Biochemistry - Victor Gutierrez-Schultz **Biological Sciences - Morgan Chaney** Chemical Engineering - Isaac S. Wheeler Chemistry - Temitope Olayemi Civil Engineering - Jose Capa Salinas Comparative Literature - Marisa J Bryans Computer Science (CS) - Jacob White Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Jacob Mishne Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (EAPS) - Michael Oyelakin Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Jamie Klamerus Engineering Education - Anyerson Cuervo (Acting) Engineering Management - Titiksha Wagh Engineering Technology - Praga Giri Food Science - Elma Kontor-Manu Forestry and Natural Resources (FNR) - Desmond Sosu Mensah Gerontology - Destiny Ogle Health Sciences - Joseph Speth History - Secret Permenter Human Development and Family Sciences (HDFS) - Inga Nordgren Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Tuba Marjan Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair Mathematics - Patrick Henry Debonis Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Meghavin Bhatasana Nutrition Science - Oianvue Wang Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren Wilbanks Sociology - Corey Resweber NAYS (1): Philosophy - James Emery

ABSENT (16): Agronomy - Lynda Peter Animal Sciences - Opeadura Timileyin Osunbami

Basic Medical Sciences - Naseem Alfadhl Comparative Pathobiology - Omnia Ibrahium Computational Interdisciplinary Graduate Program (CIGP) -Meenakshi Naravanaswami Educational Studies - Alexandria Holmes English - Jeeyoung Choi Entomology - Leslie Aviles Environmental and Ecological Engineering (EEE) - Venkat Roy Global Supply Chain Management (GSM) - Rohan Saini Industrial Engineering - Mohammad Ahmadi Gharehtoragh Nuclear Engineering (NE) - Stepan Ozerov Philosophy and Literature - Ramona Bergman Physics and Astronomy - Soumik Chandra Political Science - Benjamin E Torres Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences (SLHS) - Margaret Ziko ABSTAINED (15): Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (AgSEC) -

Mathew Smith Anthropology - Rebecca Gale Martinez Biomedical Engineering - Mikayla Roach Botany and Plant Pathology (BPP) - Pascal Okoye Communication - Husen-Chi Chiu Computer Graphics Technology - Sanjeevani Patankar Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) - Paschal Amusuo Horticulture and Landscape Architecture (HLA) - Vera Vukovic Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) - Chang Ma Industrial and Physical Pharmacy (IPPH) - Shambhavi Borde Languages and Cultures - Adewuyi Roseline Management (MGMT) - Jinfeng "Phoenix" Chen Statistics - Kyle Conrad Technology, Leadership, and Innovation (TLI) - Elnara Mammadova Veterinary Clinical Sciences (VCS) - Oluwabunmi Titilope Oladele

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 9th day of May 2024.

DocuSianed by:

Senate Clerk, PGSS