### Date of Meeting: September 5, 2024

#### PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

#### **BILL No. FA24-B001**



### **Funding the Small Research Grant**

**Author(s):** Somosmita Mitra, Secret Permenter

**Sponsor(s):** Srishti Dutta Chowdhury, Department of History

**WHEREAS,** PGSG does not have a grant directly supporting graduate student research within departments excluding outside intervention of workshops, career development, and established advisor and departmental resources; and

**WHEREAS,** Some research is not funded by an advisor, department, or the University, leaving graduate students to bear the financial costs of most, if not all, necessary parts of research, including but not limited to travel expenses, access to sources, tools and materials; and

**WHEREAS,** PGSG Financial Code of Operations<sup>1</sup> limits external spending procedures to grants administered by the Grant Review and Allocation Committee by specifying exact allocations and procedures relevant to disbursement; and

**WHEREAS,** There is a need for graduate students to have a discretionary funding source to support research without directly taking the financial burden onto themselves; and

**WHEREAS,** The interim Parliamentarian was not appointed in time to conduct an LRC review of legislation, nor determine the constitutionality of legislation, which in an emergency that can only be bypassed through emergency legislation procedures; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED,** That PGSG allocates \$10,000 of its 2025-2026 budget to a newly implemented Small Research Grant along with amendments to the Financial Code of Operations.

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** That \$10,000 for the 2024-2025 academic year be requested for use from the PGSG surplus;

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Financial Code of Operations 2021-2022 - Approved

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** That PGSG will allocate the responsibilities of the Small Research grant to a member elected to the Professional Development GRAC Vice Chair position;

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** That the duties of this GRAC Vice Chair position will now include monitoring Small Research Grant application submissions, disseminating anonymized applications to the GRAC team, keeping records of requests and awards;

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** That the title of the Professional Development Grant Vice Chair be changed to the Professional Development and Small Research Grant Vice Chair;

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** That authorization for the disbursement of the Small Research Grant Funds shall be given by the GRAC Chair, following the GRAC Team voting procedures on funding plans presented by the Professional Development and Small Research Grant Vice Chair.

**BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,** These amendments to the Financial Code of Operations will be submitted before the PGSG Senate which will codify the management of the Small Research Grant.

-Signed by:

# **PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED** 5<sup>th</sup> day of September 2024.

C226C09237BD41F	
Somosmita Mitra	_
President, PGSG	
Signed by:	
C226C09237BD41F	
Somosmita Mitra	<del>.</del>
Author	
DocuSigned by:	
Secret Permenter	-
Author	

Docusigned by:

Victor Gutierrey—Schultz

782920F0FFAB471...

Victor Gutierrez-Schultz,

Victor Gutierrez-Schultz, Senate Chair, PGSS

Signed by:

Huan Johnson

OFB37D0949BA4DC...

Ethan Johnson Parliamentarian, PGSG

Srishti Dutta Chowdhury

Srishti Dutta Chowdhury Floor Sponsor, Senator for the Department of History

## Certification

I, Abigayl Novak, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 5<sup>th</sup> day of September 2024 by the following vote:

**AYES (32):** Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ABE) - Harsh Pathak

Agricultural Economics - Emily Forsythe Anthropology - Taylor Symone Borgelt

Aviation and Transportation Technology (ATT) - Gustavo

Sanchez Cortes

Biomedical Engineering - Mikayla Roach

Chemical Engineering - Katherine L. Young

Civil Engineering - Deepak Benny

Communication - Clara Elisa Hortua Alvarado

Computer Graphics Technology (CGT) - Anant Upadhyay

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Jacob Mishne

Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences (EAPS) - Vincent

Sassard

Ecological Sciences and Engineering - Ariana Jolie Lazo

Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) (Indianapolis) -

Avijit Saha

Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Ariana Jolie Lazo

Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) - Nimit Agarwal

Food Science - Daniel Alfonso Fajardo Reyes

Forestry and Natural Resources (FNR) - Delaney Frances Jones

Health Sciences - Marwan Alajlouni

History - Srishti Dutta Chowdhury

Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) - Kasey Paige Riha

Human Development and Family Sciences (HDFS) - Can

Carkoglu

Industrial and Molecular Pharmaceutics (IMPH) - Rachana

Sapkota

Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Tuba Marjan

Materials Engineering - Ankit Kumar

Mechanical Engineering (ME) - Aishwary Shrivastava

Nuclear Engineering (NE) - Stepan Ozerov

Nutrition Science - Rojina Thapa

Philosophy - James Harry Day

Physics and Astronomy - Allen Roy Murray

Political Science - Sarandan Green

Sociology - Juwen Wang

Computer and Information Technology (CIT) - Khalil El Breidi

**NAYS** (0)

**ABSENT (3):** Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (AgSEC) -

Aimable Mugabo

Asian American and Asian Resource and Cultural Center

(AAARCC) - Nguyen Le

Engineering Education - Anyerson Cuervo

**ABSTAINED (12):** Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAE) - Arjun Rajashekar Adiga

Animal Sciences - Igra Nazir

Biochemistry - Gaoya (Grace) Meng

Biological Sciences - Ayomide Olohigbe Unuigbokhai Botany and Plant Pathology (BPP) - Pascal Okoye

Chemistry - Samson Marvellous Oladeji

Computer Science (CS) - Syed Hasan Amin Mahmood

Economics - Navid Safahieh English - Dylan Henderson

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture (HLA) - Khadija

Mbacke

Industrial and Physical Pharmacy (IPPH) - Rachana Sapkota

Languages and Cultures - Nafiu Olayiwola Oloore Management (MGMT) - Rajeev Karunanayake

Materials Engineering - Ankit Kumar

Mathematics - Geoffrey Baring

Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology - Jude Tetteh

Quarshie

Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) -

Emmanuel Oluwarotimi

Technology, Leadership, and Innovation (TLI) - Elnara

Mammadova

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 21st day of March

2025.

Docusigned by:

| Unique | Nowak | 37534548B3374A5...

Abigayl Novak Senate Clerk, PGSS