Resolution REJECTED by the Senate on October 26, 2022 -

PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

RESOLUTION No. FA22 – R002



Empowering Graduate Student Employees to Use Rightfully Earned Time Off or Be Compensated

Author(s):Solita WilsonSponsor(s):Solita Wilson, Department of Chemistry

WHEREAS, Purdue graduate students are pressured by a competitive, overachiever culture in the campus community; and

WHEREAS, Taking time off is essential to the mental health and wellbeing of all peoples, and that time should be valued by employers; and

WHEREAS, If vacation of sick days are not used by the graduate staff employment community, they are not compensated in any way for not using that time; ¹ and

WHEREAS, The Purdue Graduate student competitive atmosphere and intimidation by PIs pressuring students to not take their needed time off which leads to burnout with no incentive to keep going and no compensation for the time off lost.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, The graduate student staff employees should be compensated for their unused vacation days;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, The graduate student policy needs to be amended to include a monetary bonus for unused days off at the value of regular employment salary; and

¹ Graduate Staff Employment Manual, Purdue University, 2022

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Graduate students have the right to be compensated for their time especially when lack of time off is granted at the cost of the employee's mental health.

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ADOPTED this 26th day of October, 2022.

REJECTED by the Senate

REJECTED by the Senate

President, PGSG

Senate Chair, PGSS

Certification

I, Mary Brown, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly voted on and REJECTED by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 26th day of October, 2022 by the following vote:

AYES (7):	Chemistry - Miranda Weigand (Acting Senator)
	Engineering Technology - Pragatheiswar Giri
	English - Danielle Giles
	Food Science - Anaël Kimble
	Forestry and Natural Resources - Ken Yao Chong
	Mechanical Engineering - Meghavin Bhatasana
	Sociology - Reilly Kincaid
NAYS (20):	Animal Sciences - Sarah Innis
	Aviation and Transportation Technology - Shantanu Gupta
	Biochemistry - Steven McKenzie
	Biological Sciences - Jacqueline Anders (Acting Senator)
	Botany and Plant Pathology - Ricky Critchfield
	Chemical Engineering - Annie Sun
	Communication - Savannah Meier
	Computer Science - Jacob White
	Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences - Austin Blevins
	Electrical and Computer Engineering - Somosmita Mitra
	Health Sciences - Sydney Stradtman
	Human Development and Family Studies - Amy Loviska
	Languages and Cultures - Santiago Parra Giraldo
	Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair
	Philosophy - Mary Brown
	Physics and Astronomy - Shayamal Singh Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren
	Wilbanks
	Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences - Brooke Rodgers
	Statistics - Imon Banerjee
	Technology, Leadership, and Innovation - Ralph Rivera
ABSENT (9):	Aeronautics and Astronautics - Krishna Bansibhai Thakkar
	Agricultural and Biological Engineering - Mike Sserunjogi
	Agronomy - Binod Gyawali
	Comparative Literature - Gwénaël Jouin
	Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Alaunie Smiley
	•
	Engineering Education - Barbara Fagundes
	Management - Arindam Roy Chowdhury

Mathematics - Alexandra Cuadra Political Science - Matthew Ellis ABSTAINED (20): Agricultural Economics - Haseeb Daudzai Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication - Sarah Thies (Acting Senator) Anthropology - Olivia Palepoi Basic Medical Sciences - Siyuan Sun Biomedical Engineering - Michael Zimmerman **Civil Engineering - Agustin Quinones** Curriculum and Instruction - Theodora Amuah Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Neha Shakelly Economics - Talha Cakir Educational Studies - Stephanie Contreras Environmental and Ecological Engineering - Kendrick Hardaway Horticulture and Landscape Architecture - Camila Ulloa Gomez Hospitality and Tourism Management - Rachel Zhang Industrial and Physical Pharmacy - Pradnya Prakash Bapat Industrial Engineering - Utkuhan Genc Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Antonia Susnjar Nuclear Engineering - Stepan Ozerov Nutrition Science - Julia Choi Public Health - Sidney Smith Veterinary Clinical Sciences - Ojo Oluwabunmi T.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this 30th day of October,

2022.

aux

Senate Clerk, PGSS