PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

BILL No. SP23-B008



Amendments to the Financial Code of Operations

Author(s):

Somosmita Mitra, Rebecca-Eli Long

Sponsor(s): Imon Banerjee, School of Statistics; Meghavin Bhatasana, School of Mechanical Engineering; Mary Elizabeth Brown, Department of Philosophy; Ken Yao Ching, Department of Forestry & Natural Resources; Haseeb Daudzai, School of Agricultural Economics; Utkuhan Genc, School of Industrial Engineering; Santiago Parra Geraldo, School of Linguistics; Pragatheiswar Giri, School of Engineering Technology; Shantanu Gupta, School of Aviation and Transportation Technology; Sarah Innis, School of Animal Sciences; Anaël Kimble, School of Food Science; Savannah Meier, School of Communication; Somosmita Mitra, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Agustin Quinones, School of Civil Engineering; Rohan Saini, School of Global Supply Chain and Management; Daniel Sinclair, School of Materials Engineering; Antonia Susnjar, School of Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences; Camila Ulloa, School of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture; Christopher Barber, Department of English; Ricky Critchfield, School of Botany and Plant Pathology; Barbara Fagundes, Department of Engineering Education

WHEREAS, The Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG) intends to create an Accessibility Grant for students with disabilities or access needs that are financially impacted in their work, academic, professional development; and

WHEREAS, The Financial Code of Operations (FCO) that governs how PGSG is allowed to allocate funds must be updated to reflect the policies needed for the functioning of the Accessibility Grant;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED, That PGSG amends VII.A.1 of the FCO to add section k:

"Accessibility Grant [Application, Policies and Rubric]"

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG amends VII.A.2 of the FCO to add section j:

"Accessibility Grant funds"

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG amends VII.B to add section 5:

- 5. Authorization for the disbursement of the Accessibility Grant Funds shall be given by a Review Committee presided by the GRAC Chair and consisting of: PGSG President, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, Advisor, Diversity Officer, GRAC Professional Development Vice Chair, a representative from the Critical Disability studies program, and GRAC Accessibility Vice Chair.
 - 5.1. Funds may be reallocated from GSOGA, Travel Grant, Professional Grant, and Symposium Grant to the Accessibility Grant with the approval of the GRAC Chair and PGSG Treasurer.
 - 5.2. Funds may be reallocated from Strategic Partnerships, Graduate Student Equipment Fund, and Mental Health Partnership Fund to the Accessibility Grant with the approval of the PGSG President, Treasurer, Chief of Staff and the Chair of the Grant Review and Allocation Committee.
 - 5.3. Reallocations may occur during the final Executive Board meeting of the academic year, if unused funds remain."
 - 5.4. Applications for the Accessibility Grant are approved by the Accessibility Review Committee, headed by the GRAC Chair, comprising the PGSG President, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, Advisor, Diversity Officer, GRAC Professional Development Vice Chair, a representative from the Critical Disability studies program, and GRAC Accessibility Vice Chair.

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG amends VII.A.1 to add hyperlinks to relevant documentation for each listed grant.

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG amends VI.A.3.c., "Annual Allocations - PGSG Directors," to include:

• GRAC Vice Chair - Accessibility Grant - \$250

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG amends FCO VII A.2.. the number of external PGSG expenditures to "ten."

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED 12th day of April 2023.

-DocuSigned by:

—___B5016D7B004B4A7...

President, PGSG

-DocuSigned by:

-9A293462337E

Senate Chair, PGSS

Certification

I, Mary Brown, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 12th day of April 2023 by the following vote:

AYES (38): Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication - Bryanna Nelson

American Studies - David Tortolini

Animal Sciences - Sarah Innis

Anthropology - Olivia Palepoi

Basic Medical Sciences - Siyuan Sun

Biochemistry - Steven McKenzie

Biological Sciences - Morgan Chaney

Biomedical Engineering - Michael Zimmerman

Botany and Plant Pathology - Ricky Critchfield

Chemistry - Solita Wilson

Civil Engineering - Agustin Quinones

Communication - Savannah Meier

Computer Science - Jacob White

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Alaunie Smiley

Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences - Austin Blevins

Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Neha Shakelly

Electrical and Computer Engineering - Somosmita Mitra

Engineering Technology - Pragatheiswar Giri

English - Christopher Barber

Food Science - Anaël Kimble

Forestry and Natural Resources - Ken Yao Chong

Health Sciences - Sydney Stradtman

History - Secret Permenter

Hospitality and Tourism Management - Rachel Zhang

Human Development and Family Studies - Amy Loviska

Industrial Engineering - Utkuhan Genc

Languages and Cultures - Santiago Parra Giraldo

Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair

Mechanical Engineering - Meghavin Bhatasana

Nuclear Engineering - Stepan Ozerov

Philosophy - Mary Brown

Political Science - Matthew Ellis

Public Health - Sidney Smith

Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren

Wilbanks

Sociology - Reilly Kincaid

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences - Brooke Rodgers

Statistics - Imon Banerjee

Veterinary Clinical Sciences - Ojo Oluwabunmi T.

NAYS (0):

ABSENT (10): Agricultural and Biological Engineering - Mike Sserunjogi

Agronomy - Binod Gyawali

Aviation and Transportation Technology - Shantanu Gupta

Comparative Literature - Marisa J. Bryan

Curriculum and Instruction - Theodora Amuah

Educational Studies - Stephanie Contreras

Environmental and Ecological Engineering - Aliya Edhe

Management - Arindam Roy Chowdhury

Physics and Astronomy - Shayamal Singh

Technology, Leadership, and Innovation - Elizabeth Thompson

ABSTAINED (9): Agricultural Economics - Haseeb Daudzai

Chemical Engineering - Austin Choi

Economics - Saunok Chakrabarty

Engineering Education - Kevin Jay Kaufman-Ortiz

Global Supply Chain Management - Rohan Saini

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture - Camila Ulloa Gomez

Industrial and Physical Pharmacy - Pradnya Prakash Bapat

Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Antonia Susnjar

Nutrition Science - Qianyue Wang

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I hereunto set my hand.

asigned by.

Mans &.

Senate Clerk, PGSS