PURDUE GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE

BILL No. SP23-B009



Funding the Accessibility Grant

Author(s): Sponsor(s):

Somosmita Mitra, Rebecca-Eli Long

Imon Baneriee, School of Statistics; Meghavin Bhatasana, School of Mechanical Engineering; Mary Elizabeth Brown, Department of Philosophy; Ken Yao Ching, Department of Forestry & Natural Resources; Haseeb Daudzai, School of Agricultural Economics; Utkuhan Genc, School of Industrial Engineering; Santiago Parra Geraldo, School of Linguistics; Pragatheiswar Giri, School of Engineering Technology; Shantanu Gupta, School of Aviation and Transportation Technology; Sarah Innis, School of Animal Sciences; Anaël Kimble, School of Food Science; Savannah Meier, School of Communication; Somosmita Mitra, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Agustin Quinones, School of Civil Engineering; Rohan Saini, School of Global Supply Chain and Management; Daniel Sinclair, School of Materials Engineering; Antonia Susnjar, School of Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences; Camila Ulloa, School of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture; Christopher Barber, Department of English; Ricky Critchfield, School of Botany and Plant Pathology; Barbara Fagundes, Department of Engineering Education

WHEREAS, PGSG has as one of its major goals the improvement of mental and physical wellbeing of graduate students, requiring specific and outcome-focused initiatives;

WHEREAS, PGSG Financial Code of Operations limits external spending procedures to grants administered by the Grant Review and Allocation Committee, with the oversight of review committees as needed;

THEREFORE BE IT ENACTED, That PGSG allocates \$10,000 of its 2023-2024 budget to a newly implemented Accessibility Grant; and,

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That PGSG will create a GRAC Accessibility Vice Chair position; the duties of this position will include monitoring Accessibility application submissions, disseminating anonymized applications to the review committee, keeping records of requests and awards, and presiding in the GRAC Chair's place as needed on the review committee;

the Accessibility Grant Vice Chair will be paid \$250 per year, in accordance with existing Vice Chair payment policies as laid out in the Financial Code of Operations; and

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That authorization for the disbursement of the Accessibility Grant Funds shall be given by a Review Committee presided by the GRAC chair and consisting of: PGSG President, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, Advisor, Diversity Officer, GRAC Professional Development Vice Chair, a representative from the Critical Disability studies program, and GRAC Accessibility Vice Chair; and

BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That amendments to the Financial Code of Operations will be submitted before the PGSG Senate which will codify the management of the Accessibility Grant.

PASSED, APPROVED, AND ENACTED 12th day of April 2023.

−DocuSigned by:

B5016D7B004B4A7.

President, PGSG

-DocuSigned by:

Senate Chair, PGSS

Certification

I, Mary Brown, Senate Clerk of the Purdue Graduate Student Senate, do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was regularly passed and adopted by the Purdue Graduate Student Senate of Purdue University, at a regular meeting thereof held on the 12th day of April 2023 by the following vote:

AYES (36): Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication - Bryanna Nelson

American Studies - David Tortolini

Animal Sciences - Sarah Innis

Anthropology - Olivia Palepoi

Basic Medical Sciences - Siyuan Sun

Biochemistry - Steven McKenzie

Biological Sciences - Morgan Chaney

Biomedical Engineering - Michael Zimmerman

Botany and Plant Pathology - Ricky Critchfield

Chemistry - Solita Wilson

Civil Engineering - Agustin Quinones

Communication - Savannah Meier

Computer Science - Jacob White

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) - Alaunie Smiley

Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences - Austin Blevins

Ecological Sciences and Engineering (ESE) - Neha Shakelly

Electrical and Computer Engineering - Somosmita Mitra

Engineering Technology - Pragatheiswar Giri

Forestry and Natural Resources - Ken Yao Chong

Health Sciences - Sydney Stradtman

History - Secret Permenter

Horticulture and Landscape Architecture - Camila Ulloa Gomez

Hospitality and Tourism Management - Rachel Zhang

Human Development and Family Studies - Amy Loviska

Industrial Engineering - Utkuhan Genc

Materials Engineering - Daniel Sinclair

Mechanical Engineering - Meghavin Bhatasana

Nuclear Engineering - Stepan Ozerov

Nutrition Science - Qianyue Wang

Philosophy - Mary Brown

Public Health - Sidney Smith

Purdue University Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (PULSe) - Lauren

Wilbanks

Sociology - Reilly Kincaid

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences - Brooke Rodgers

Statistics - Imon Banerjee

Veterinary Clinical Sciences - Ojo Oluwabunmi T.

NAYS (0):

ABSENT (10): Agricultural and Biological Engineering - Mike Sserunjogi

Agronomy - Binod Gyawali

Aviation and Transportation Technology - Shantanu Gupta

Comparative Literature - Marisa J. Bryan

Curriculum and Instruction - Theodora Amuah

Educational Studies - Stephanie Contreras

Environmental and Ecological Engineering - Aliya Edhe

Management - Arindam Roy Chowdhury

Physics and Astronomy - Shayamal Singh

Technology, Leadership, and Innovation - Elizabeth Thompson

ABSTAINED (11): Agricultural Economics - Haseeb Daudzai

Chemical Engineering - Austin Choi

Economics - Saunok Chakrabarty

Engineering Education - Kevin Jay Kaufman-Ortiz

English - Christopher Barber

Food Science - Anaël Kimble

Global Supply Chain Management - Rohan Saini

Industrial and Physical Pharmacy - Pradnya Prakash Bapat

Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences (IBSC) - Antonia Susnjar

Languages and Cultures - Santiago Parra Giraldo

Political Science - Matthew Ellis

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand.

- -

Senate Clerk, PGSS